Tel : +33(0)1 41 50 67 70|contact@spectralys.fr

Our technology: fluorescence

Our technology: fluorescence 2019-11-21T23:44:41+00:00

Our analysers are built according to the same principle:

  • LEDs to illuminate the sample at the wavelengths where it is capable of absorbing energy and re-emitting it efficiently in accordance with the phenomenon of fluorescence
  • A CCD-type detector capable of accurately recording the spectra emitted by the sample
  • Software which cleans and extracts the data contained in the spectra and applies the calibration models developed for the application in question.
  • An interface which provides the different measurements chosen to characterize the sample and its quality level.
  • An inert material for checking the instrument’s stability is used before each series of analyses to confirm the quality of the measurements. If the value (set to 100 when it leaves the factory) deviates beyond the confidence interval, we advise you to contact our After-Sales Department.
  • Made in France: the production of all our parts and the assembly of our instruments are handled exclusively in France by the different Chauvin Arnoux teams.

Biological and food products possess natural fluorescence. Some constituents, such as proteins and vitamins, the products of chemical or enzyme reactions, such as Maillard products or hydroperoxides, or contaminants like mycotoxins or pesticides, emit a specific light signal if they are illuminated with visible UV.

Measurement of the fingerprint (complex, sensitive, specific signal generated by the raw product, without preparation, when it is illuminated with visible UV light) faithfully reveals the impact of the processes on the physical and chemical structure of agricultural and food products. These processes may be:

  • biological like the growth of a plant or the germination of a seed,
  • biochemical, as during the secretion of mycotoxins by the Fusarium fungus; some aflatoxin mycotoxins generate a more intense signal
  • chemical, like the production of Maillard products due to the impact of the temperature, or hydroperoxidation due to the impact of oxygen
  • physical and chemical, like protein denaturation due to heat or modification of the wheat’s structure during grinding.

A simple measurement of the sample provides information on the product’s physical and chemical status, thus indirectly indicating the functional properties induced.

To analyse and process this signal, you need to implement complex mathematical processes developed by chemometrics specialists and data scientists.

In particular, the signal must be calibrated if you want to measure a quality indicator. The calibration seeks the relation between the fluorescence signal and the concentration or level of the indicator, itself quantified using laboratory methods called reference methods.

We develop generic types of calibration for turnkey use of measurement on our analysers, as well as specific calibrations applicable to each customer’s individual needs, products and evaluation techniques. Automatic local calibration methods are developed to so that customers remain free to choose how they build models while ensuring that the models target their specific context.

Fluorescence can also be used for direct measurement of fluorescent molecules like proteins, vitamin B2 (riboflavin) or chlorophyll, if the medium is transparent.

This is the case for water or soluble extracts of solid or opaque products: milk, soya, hydrolysates, etc.

This is the method we use to measure the level of non-denatured native proteins with AMALTHEYS. This involves preparing a transparent medium from the milk by precipitating the caseins and whey denatured proteins. A buffer is supplied with a kit for simple, reproducible preparation of the transparent solution of native milk proteins or other dairy products. The analyser measures the natural fluorescence of the amino acid tryptophan, a component of dairy products, whose concentration is proportionate to that of the proteins.

PREPARATION KIT

 

AMALTHEYS®  is delivered in a transportable case with all the products and consumables (distributors, flasks, etc.).

Ready-to-use sample preparation kits have been developed to enable operators with no particular technical skills to perform analyses with AMALTHEYS®. A kit contains all the consumables necessary to perform 100 or 500 analyses depending on your use of the analyser.

Tel : +33(0)1 41 50 67 70|contact@spectralys.fr

Notre Technologie : la fluorescence

Notre Technologie : la fluorescence 2019-11-21T23:44:41+00:00

Nos analyseurs sont construits sur le même principe :

  • Des LEDs pour éclairer l’échantillon aux longueurs d’ondes où il est capable d’absorber l’énergie et la ré-emettre de manière efficace selon le phénomène de fluorescence
  • Un détecteur de type CCD capable d’enregistrer précisément les spectres émis par l’échantillon
  • Un logiciel qui nettoie et extrait l’information contenue dans les spectres et applique les modèles de calibration développés pour l’application donnée.
  • Une interface qui fournit les différentes mesures choisies pour caractériser l’échantillon et son niveau de qualité.
  • Un matériau inerte de contrôle de la stabilité de l’appareil est utilisé avant chaque série d’analyse pour valider la qualité des mesures. En cas de déviation de la valeur (ramenée à 100 en sortie usine) au-delà de l’intervalle de confiance, nous vous conseillons de contacter notre SAV.
  • Made in France : la production de toutes nos pièces et le montage des appareils sont réalisés exclusivement en France par les différentes équipes de Chauvin Arnoux.

Les produits biologiques et alimentaires possèdent une fluorescence naturelle. Certains constituants comme les protéines et vitamines, les produits de réactions chimiques ou enzymatiques comme les produits de Maillard ou les peroxydes lipidiques, ou encore des contaminants comme les mycotoxines ou pesticides, émettent une lumière spécifique si on les éclaire dans l’UV-visible.

La mesure de l’empreinte (signal complexe, sensible et spécifique généré par le produit brut, sans préparation, lorsqu’on l’éclaire avec de la lumière UV-visible) révèle de manière très fidèle l’impact des process sur la structure physico-chimique des produits agricoles et alimentaires. Ces process peuvent être :

  • biologiques comme la croissance d’un végétal ou la germination de la graine,
  • biochimique, comme lors de la sécrétion de mycotoxines par le champignon Fusarium ; certaines mycotoxines, de type aflatoxines, présentent un signal plus intense
  • chimique, comme la production des produits de Maillard sous l’impact de la température, ou la peroxydation lipidique sous l’impact de l’oxygène
  • physico-chimique, comme la dénaturation protéique à la chaleur ou la modification de la structure du blé au cours de la mouture.

Une simple mesure de l’échantillon renseigne sur l’état physico-chimique du produit et donc, indirectement, sur les propriétés fonctionnelles induites.

L’analyse et l’exploitation de ce signal nécessitent de mettre en œuvre des process mathématiques complexes, développés par les chimiométriciens et data scientists.

Notamment, une calibration du signal est nécessaire si l’on souhaite mesurer un indicateur de qualité. La calibration recherche la relation entre le signal de fluorescence et la concentration ou le niveau de l’indicateur, lui-même quantifié par des méthodes de laboratoires, dites de référence.

Nous développons des calibration génériques pour un usage clé en main de la mesure sur nos analyseurs, mais également des calibrations spécifiques qui s’appliquent aux besoins particuliers de chacun, à leurs produits et à leurs techniques d’évaluation. Des méthodes de calibrations locales automatiques sont développées pour fournir au client à la fois une autonomie dans la construction de modèles et à la fois une spécificité de ces derniers à son contexte particulier.

La fluorescence permet également la mesures directe de molécules fluorescentes comme les protéines, la vitamine B2 ou riboflavine ou encore la chlorophylle, si le milieu est transparent.

C’est le cas pour l’eau, ou pour des extraits solubles de produits solides ou opaques : lait, soja, hydrolysats…

C’est cette méthode que nous utilisons pour mesurer sur AMALTHEYS la teneur en protéines natives non dénaturées.  Il s’agit donc de préparer à partir du lait, un milieu transparent par précipitation des caséines et protéines dénaturées. Un tampon est fourni avec un kit pour assurer la préparation simple et reproductible de la solution transparente de protéines natives du lait ou d’autres produits laitiers. L’analyseur mesurela fluorescence naturelle de l’acide aminé tryptophane, composant des protéines laitières, dont la concentration est proportionnelle à celle des protéines.

KIT DE PRÉPARATION

AMALTHEYS®  est fourni dans une valise transportable, avec l’ensemble des produits et consommables (distributeurs, flacons, etc.)

Des kits de préparation d’échantillon prêts à l’emploi, ont été développés dans le but de permettre à un opérateur sans compétences techniques particulières de réaliser des analyses avec AMALTHEYS®. Un kit contient les consommables nécessaires pour  la réalisation simple de 100 ou 500 analyses selon votre utilisation de l’analyseur.